An Exclusive Conversation with the Director of "Life Itself" and "Hoop Dreams" Closes 2014 Filmmakers Conference 

CHICAGO, October 3, 2014 - IFP/Chicago (www.ifpchicago.org) is delighted to announce its Conference closing session: "75 Minutes With Steve James," on Saturday, October 11, 3:00PM at the 2014 Filmmakers Conference. This session is open to Conference attendees only. Passes can be purchased at www.ifpchicago.org/conference-passes.

Steve James produced and directed Hoop Dreams, winner of every major critics' prize including a Peabody and Robert F. Kennedy Award. Other films include Stevie, which won IDFA's grand jury prize; the acclaimed miniseries The New Americans; Tribeca Grand Prize winner The War Tapes, which James produced and edited; At the Death House Door, which won numerous festival awards; No Crossover: The Trial of Allen Iverson for ESPN's Peabody winning "30 for 30" series; and The Interrupters, which won an Emmy, an Independent Spirit Award, and the duPont Journalism Award among numerous others. James' most recent documentary on the life and career of critic Roger Ebert, Life Itself, premiered to great acclaim at the 2014 Sundance and Cannes Film Festivals, and is currently on wide release.  Steve James has been affiliated with Kartemquin Films since 1987.

"75 Minutes With ..." is IFP/Chicago's popular series of conversations with the well-known and emerging directors, screenwriters and technical experts of independent cinema. These intimate talks engage both filmmakers and film enthusiasts alike, providing behind-the-scenes reflections and personal insights into the filmmaking process. Previous editions of "75 Minutes With ..." have featured such filmmakers as Neil LaBute, Rose Troche, Harold Ramis, Dylan Baker, Joe Chappelle and Joe Swanberg.

IFP/Chicago's 2014 Filmmakers Conference will be held Friday, October 10 - Saturday, October 11 at Film Row Cinema at Columbia College Chicago.  Conference details are available at www.ifpchicago.org/conference.  

2014 Conference Sponsors:  The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Cinespace Chicago Film Studios,  Columbia College Chicago - Cinema Art + Science,  Digital Professional Institute, The Illinois Arts Council Agency,  Illinois Film Office and SAGIndie.